A BRAND THAT NEVER BROKE CHARACTER

Even though I knew I was taking a chance by choosing a brand that no longer existed for my presentation, I simply had to do it. Daily Candy was so awesome, and even though it has been gone for a long time, I had to feature it. I still miss it.

Few other platforms have impressed me as much as Daily Candy has, exceptions would be the DAVIDsTEA website and email campaigns, all of Patagonia’s platforms, and the Movember website. Although, even Movember is not as good as it was a few years back. Daily Candy’s Parachute In style appealed to me immensely. Who wants boring and long-winded when you can have short and punchy?

Daily Candy, to quote the Wall Street Journal (April 13, 2001), “… is the story of a company that knew their audience, knew how to inform it, and most definitely knew how to keep it.”

I subscribed to the Daily Candy newsletter for many years. I remember receiving the emails and thinking, each time, how can it be so clever? Each and every single headline was always so darn amazing. I’m sure the founder, Dany Lavy, made it a priority to hire the most brilliant writers she could find. I read an article this week that said her group was so tight, and got along so well, that they still vacation together even though they have not been colleagues for over two years.

The more I researched Daily Candy, and the more I read their old posts, old articles, etc., the more I realized their headlines, tag lines, and writing had everything we learned was essential for successful Social Media campaigns.

Daily Candy adjusted their communication style very well to each platform. Their website answered the Who am I? What can I do for you? And What can you do here? questions extremely well, and cleverly, I may add. They broke everything up in small bites. Their headlines and sentences on the home page were short. Navigation was über easy. Their newsletters (my favourite) were so much fun. All the information was always clear, concise, correct and extremely compelling. There was never too much text, and I don’t feel there was too little either.

The October 2nd 2003 issue of MarketingSherpa had this to say about the writing in the Daily Candy newsletters: “Daily Candy is beloved by its readers and sponsors because the design and writing are so infused with style. Each issue of Daily Candy would be incredibly quick to read, with just one brief story in large eye-friendly type per day.”

Their Facebook has hilarious and punchy headlines. Just like the website and newsletter, it was easy to navigate and find what you wanted on their Facebook pages. Instagram was fun, the photos certainly told the stories, and you could really sense they catered very well to their audience (mostly females). Last, but not least, the Pinterest platform was also a huge winner. Daily Candy definitely wrote for the right brain. No doubt about that.

Dany Levy sold Daily Candy in 2008 for $125 million to Comcast, and the wonderful story of Daily Candy ended in 2014 after the new owners (NBC) failed to sell it. Crain’s New York Business website (March 27, 2014) had a wonderful headline about this story: “NBC Mismanaged DailyCandy to death, former adviser says. NBC’s failure to turn a profit destroyed a vibrant brand.”

Leave a Reply

