The Choosing of a Blog

By Sarah Montpetit

I’ve always had trouble making choices. Whether it’s what to order at lunch or whether to accept a job offer in another country, I hesitate. I ponder. I weigh the pros and cons. It takes me forever to decide, and even when the choice is made, I agonize some more.

In my Digital Content Creation class, we were asked to follow one of four blogs, and write about our choice. Which blog should I choose? And how should I choose? By going through a pre-determined checklist of desirable traits?  Should I let myself be influenced by first impressions and the blog’s colour palette? A rock, paper, scissors tournament perhaps?

I decided to pull up the four blogs and just give each one 15 minutes. May the best blog win, I told myself optimistically, hoping for lightning to strike.

Mark Schaefer’s blog provided a pleasant experience, being easy to navigate and full of what seemed like helpful posts written for the busy marketer. I felt us click when I read his suggestion to “drink a beer” as one of 25 ideas on how to be more productive at content creation. A man after my own heart.

Next I spent some time with Bernadette Jiwa. Such seductive, thought-provoking posts. Indeed, what had I done today that would make me worth choosing tomorrow? I was already on my second content idea for a friend’s business when the timer went off.

Then I visited Simon Sinek’s world. This man was talking about vision! Yes, why is it that business leaders so often fail to clearly express their vision? A quick read of his “About” page and I was almost in tears. Yes! I too want to live in this world!

Imagine a world where people wake up every day inspired to go to work, feel safe while they are there, and return home at the end of the day feeling fulfilled by the work they do, feeling that they have contributed to something greater than themselves.

-Simon Sinek

Finally I went to see Jeff Goins. Before I knew it I had signed up for his blog, downloaded his Free Beginner’s Guide to Building an Audience, and was considering buying his new book, The Art of Work. Half my time was up and I hadn’t actually read a post yet. But then I saw this: “Many people believe they have a novel in them, but they fail to ever write it.” Stop Jeff, you had me at “novel”.

And there they were, four perfectly lovely—yet completely different—blogs. I could feel the cold sweats coming on. I was torn. The Libra in me was already having trouble imagining how I would justify saying “no” to three of these blogs. How could I miss out on so much good advice and inspiration!?

So I choose not to choose. Or rather, I choose them all.

3 thoughts on “The Choosing of a Blog

  1. Hi Sarah! Good blog! Giving each blog a try for 15 minutes is a good way to evaluate because today visitors will leave if they don’t like the experience or it’s not obvious what you are offering. I also think the 4 bloggers have something unique to offer- hard to choose. I landed on Mark because I guess I am a practical kind of person but Jeff was my runner-up. I felt that his blog is really more about getting me to buy into his class and books though. I was looking for something I could use without buying something or paying a subscription. I do think I may sign up with Jeff after I have finished the certificate. See you this evening. /Christina/

    Like

  2. I feel so identified with your post! I also struggle with decision-making, especially deciding who to follow. I usually follow recommendations of people I already follow and if the content is useful I keep them, if not, I unfollow them after.

    -Lesmy

    Like

  3. I felt the exact same way! The 15 minute time frame is a great idea – I should have done that because looking at the blogpost brought me into an Internet black hole of research. Great outlook on why you’d want to choose all four blogs as well!

    – Jacqui

    Like

Leave a Reply

