It’s Not Too Late

by Linsay Philippe-Auguste

I quit my job. I couldn’t take it anymore. I gave my boss a 3-week notice, out of courtesy. I did, however, seriously consider spontaneously barging out of that office, rambling insults and never looking back. Thankfully, my mother raised me better than that.

I spent the last three years writing online content for plumbers, podiatrists, dentists, interior decorators, contractors and mechanics. One day, the utter lack of glamour in creating website copy for small businesses finally dawned on me (trust me, there’s nothing sexy about bunion treatments or sump pumps). A unique opportunity to work in the retail industry presented itself 7 months ago: at last! My passions for writing and fashion would get me money! Soon enough, I realized that working in that field was anything but glamorous. Long hours, daily chaos (not the good kind) and shady management literally sucked the fun out of it for me. I had to get out. Quick.

‘Get out and do what?’ you might ask. Well, the thing I’ve been putting off for so many years: writing for myself. It’s terrifying, trying to make a living by exposing my every thought and expecting to get paid for it. It’s an odd concept, when you think about it, and a daunting task to take on. I often wonder if it’s already too late for me to get on this amazing journey.

Reading Jeff Goins’ blog stirs up that passion in me to push my fears aside, stop over-thinking and actually dedicate myself completely to my craft and calling. He strongly believes that it is not too late for anyone to make a living writing. His blog provides incredible practical resources for aspiring writers to help them hone their skills and embark on a successful career. There’s gotta be hope for me, then!

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-15-34-44

In a podcast featured on the post “Become a Full-Time Writer with This Proven 4-Step Process the host Andy Traub explains how every writer, also referred to as “creative”, should live a portfolio life, making a difference with their art and discovering their true voice. Goins goes on to say that the world is “noisy today, it’s noisier than it was a few years ago, but there’s still one voice missing and that’s yours. There’s still one story we haven’t heard, one message we haven’t seen.”

I’ve been blogging for almost 10 years now and I’ve also been working on a novel for quite some time, but there was always something holding me back. The fear of not being relevant, not having enough creative juices to carry me through a long-standing career, of having a voice no one cared about. Goins’ blog is really encouraging me to let my voice be heard and to share my stories with the world.

My voice does matter. No more excuses. Time to get to work.

Images: Quotes Cover, Author Unlimited

One thought on “It’s Not Too Late

  1. I loved reading your post Linsay! Congratulations on following your dreams. I’ve been there before, I know the feeling. I totally agree with making our voices heard, even with all the noise that is currently surrounding us. It’s currently my part of personal struggle, I’ve touched on it briefly on my piece. Hopefully this class will help us with bringing our voice above the noise so that we can finally be heard. Can’t wait to read more of your work in the future. Good luck with the new career! – Joanne D.

    Like

Leave a Reply

