Management vs. Leadership : Good boss, bad boss!

By Marylin Merit

As I went through Simon Sinek’s blog*, I instantly felt attracted by one of the posts on « Management vs. Leadership ». I knew I would feel inspired by this article without even reading it. I did read it though…. And let me tell you what is my story! It is quite usual yet it explains what Leadership means to me!

My career started by the wrong foot

Once upon a time, I was freshly graduated from a business school in Paris and about to start my career as a Product Manager. I was super motivated and ready to run the world! That was before I had to deal with my boss : bossy, oh yes she was! And she made me feel that I was not competent, she was autocratic and oh so intimidating! I was feeling like a good soldier, following my captain’s orders!

At that time, I didn’t have any experience and thought this was the normality…but then I started looking and asking around me and…I quit my job, after 15 months. I realized that yes, a good boss is somebody you can trust, who makes you grow as a person and as a professional.  I also realized that I wasn’t alone in that situation : did you know that 43% of employees dislike their boss’ management style or lack of mentorship? This is the 1st reason they would be willing to leave their current job**!

8_signes_que_vous_avez_un_mauvais_patron

I finally found my mentor!  

So there I was : in the quest of a new job, hoping that I would be luckier this time. I finally found another job 5 months later. It was worth waiting because I finally found my mentor! The real leader, the one who challenges you instead of telling you what to do without even explaining you the why, the one who tells you what you did well before the things to improve, the one who rewards the team instead of taking credits of something he didn’t do!

leader

Today, I’m a boss!

Today, because I had the right boss, I was able to grow as a person and learn. I manage people and I always remember to lead by example. I also want to make people grow so that they can take my position one day. I want to be fair and to make my team feel like we are working in a safe place where their opinions are valued!

boss-vs-leader-06

This is why this article from Simon Sinek’s blog inspired me. I will compare leadership with social media engagement : I strongly believe that we achieve more when we focus on people first. If employees feel valued and part of a team, they will give their best and make great team players and potentially stay longer in your company! This is the same when we engage people following us on social media: if you engage and value them, they will become your best ambassadors!

*http://blog.startwithwhy.com/refocus/2015/07/management-vs-leadership.html

** Yahoo! HotJobs’ annual job satisfaction survey, 2008.

5 thoughts on “Management vs. Leadership : Good boss, bad boss!

  1. Marilyn, your post grabbed my attention from the visual to the title. It’s also a topic that i can relate to as I share the same experience from my first job ever.

    I like how you start your story straightforward by informing us about your author and then dig deeper to explain why you choose him and provide personal relevant examples that come to support your choice and your WHY. The ending is interesting as well as you provide a valuable conclusion by stating that you’re a manager yourself now…

    I felt the blog post is rich and well structured. I enjoyed reading the story 🙂

    Ivette Maakaroun

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job on your blog post Marilyn! Much like Ivette mentioned before me I was immediately drawn in by your visual graphic. When I was reading your content I found that it related to me in some ways. I am starting off my career – I’m one year in to my job. I’ve had a lot of ups and downs with my manager. Recently I’ve switched to a much better manager and I hope to grow in my job under his supervision. I love how you explained your career trajectory in your blog post. Looking forward to reading more of your posts! – Lara Hamelin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marylin

      Hi Lara!

      Thanks for your comment! I’m happy that you had the possibility to change for another manager who wants you to make you grow within the company. I hope you’ll learn from him!

      Like

Leave a Reply

