I will be asked and I should be ready to answer: WHY your ice cream?

By Ivette Maakaroun

“ICE CREAM”! What does this word make you feel? Well, I’m 27 years old and this word still makes me happy. I get even more excited when I get to enjoy one and I always wonder how much kids get excited when they eat ice cream, not just any ice cream, a delicious one… 🙂

For years, I’ve been experiencing the corporate life, learning different and interesting things about the Marketing world from one company or department to another. However, I must admit that I would ultimately, one day, love to start my own business after acquiring the minimum amount of experience needed to move forward in a world full of competition. Yes, it would be an ice cream shop! It might not seem like that big creative business idea, but for me, it’s something I like, something I’m sure I will enjoy waking up to everyday knowing I will be making someone happy by serving delicious tasty ice cream flavors that will only make their day better.

There are LOTS of ice cream shops and brands out there and especially big brands that are dominating the Canadian market as well as international markets. Competition is fierce and food shops and restaurants that serve ice cream are also around every corner of the city. I always felt that the day I decide to move forward with this idea, it will surely be a challenging business idea, no matter how simple it may seem, from choosing the brand name, to concept, to branding and so on.

  • What would make people come buy my ice cream with the thousand ice cream shops who might be already well renowned out there?
  • How can I explain and tell the public that my offering is different than what others are offering?
  • How can i bring up the value of my special recipe or unique tasting ice cream?
  • How can I make sure my clients will share the right story with their surroundings?

Because it’s just ice cream, I always felt it would be too hard to answer these questions in a market full of ice cream competitors. I feel it’s pretty challenging to create a story and branding that grabs the crowd’s attention.

Business-ideas-make-it-happen.jpg

But I have always believed that you can never know the outcome of something until you take the risk and try. I should start somewhere and by looking at the blog of author Bernadette Jiwa, I realized that I can find on this website lots of answers to my questions and doubts…

This one sentence on Bernadette’s homepage grabbed my attention and got me interested in choosing her as an author to follow in search for tips and guiding in regards to entrepreneurship, branding and story telling.

“People don’t buy what you do, they buy how you make them feel and the story you give them to tell.”

That’s exactly what I’m looking for. I’m looking to learn how to tell my story and share my passion with the crowd. Bernadette Jiwa, with her deep experience and passion about storytelling, is definitely a go to person and blog for all Marketing lovers and entrepreneurs looking like me to tell the world a story that matters to them deeply and that could strengthen and add value to the relation between both parties!

Leave a Reply

