The Triumphant Arrival of “My” Newsletter…

Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 11.55.35

by Othon Leon

“No one cares about traffic anymore,” once said Stacey Ferguson, creator of the social media community Blogalicious. The basis of this? Content is too divided; there is twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Snapshot, Blab, etc. And in a certain way, I agree… In fact, maybe companies should think twice before dedicating all those resources towards their websites.

The reason traffic towards the website was relevant in the past was the generated “power” by the organisation that offered relevant content; however, the influence that it created has diminished dramatically due to the enormous quantity of offers on-line, and that is why today there might be nothing more powerful than an effective newsletter. By “effective” I mean rich in relevant content (value) and well directed towards the right audiences.

Actually it would seem that we might be living through a period of “rebirth” of the relevance of the newsletter. At least that is the case that I find in the one called “what’s new” produced by McGill University and distributed among its students’ community. I find this publication to be a valuable source of (relevant) information, that promotes endless activities, informs well the students and also fosters McGill’s sense (pride) of belonging.

If “what’s new” tells me that there is a new software available to improve my writing skills, I keep on reading, if it informs me of an upcoming lecture that I consider interesting, I go to my calendar to spare the date, etc. In other words, I trust this newsletter. And this is a big word (trust) when we consider a newsletter. It is not only the fact that it comes from McGill University, I mean, that is a very good start, but the fact that edition after edition the content is relevant, motivates me to open and read it every time, at the same time that it enriches my reading experience.

The feeling of “exclusivity” also adds to the experience of receiving my newsletter… “what’s new” is addressed only to the students of McGill’s, meaning  that its content represents extra value for the fees I am paying to attend the school. For the same token, it also adds to the content I receive in the classroom.

It is almost like receiving a personal message, or at least “as personal as it gets”. It is also convenient because I can read it at ease, whenever and wherever it is possible.

All in all, the newsletter is coming back… and with a vengeance!

 

One thought on “The Triumphant Arrival of “My” Newsletter…

  1. Phil A.

    Good post Othon! I agree with your point about the importance of feeling a sense of “trust” from the newsletter you receive. This is not something that is easy to obtain from your audience, but consistently providing engaging and relevant content over time definitely helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

