Telex and Tears: Thank God For Digital Press Release

full.jpg

By: Amany Radwan Osman

I hear the frantic clicking on the typewriter keys and I pity the poor office manager who is facing a long Friday night alone tapping away at the Telex machine. For it is  the magazine’s dreaded deadline evening when we need to file our stories to our editors in New York. I bid my cheerful  weekend wishes to my colleagues as I head towards the office door ready to kick back and relax. In the hallway I hear my name called and I stop in my tracks. I scurry back into my boss’s office who thrusts a pile of paper in my hand,  “Send them to New York now,” he says with an exhausted grin.  I  smile faintly as I hold back my tears. After all it is my first week on the job and I so want to appear confident.  But the only catch is I do not have a clue how this ugly grey unfriendly  machine with overflowing  holed tape works.

50675056.jpgThese agonizing days were thirty years ago when staff  in a news magazine grappled daily with  insurmountable heaps of paper. The piles of telex tape, ticker rolls and newspapers were a daily ordeal that never went away. I still remember so vividly being unable to push open the office door on a Monday because it was blocked by the overflowing paper from the Associated Press ticker  service.  Somewhere in the midst of the pyramids of tapes and paper rolls were important press releases sent by government spokesmen, different ministries and embassies informing us of press conferences,  news breaking announcements and events that we could not miss. Other selected press releases  had to be picked up daily  in person by the magazine messenger.

old-phone-19820468.jpg

Needless to say the process by which we as media received and sifted through different press releases was tediously slow and time consuming. At that time before email and the mobile phone we largely depended on word of mouth, cultivated contacts and the landline to both deliver and receive  important press announcements. The rolodex with priceless telephone contact numbers was our biggest data base resource.

imhsb3.gif

The introduction of Multimedia  has  radically overhauled the press world whether you are the crafter of the press release or  you are on the receiving end of the information. Before multimedia finally came to our rescue  we as journalists were constantly hungry for information. We were always on the look out  for anything new to report or a different angle to add to our story because our resources were so scarce.  Press spokespeople who released the news often gave members of the press a haughty and hard to get attitude. Personal contacts  and the power of the name of your journalistic Brand like Time-Life Inc really helped nudge  open those sometimes reluctant doors.

3103d6ad57c870e072606f12fef8.jpg

Digital has definitely overturned the game because now there is so much information out there through visible platforms that were once unimaginable to even conceive. Instead of the journalists angling in to get  information, now publication relations and press offices of institutions, organizations and establishments are ready to hand over their material and share it  for immediate consumption.  We as journalists are always under deadline pressure and the threat of being upscooped by the competition. We now love the fact that someone else is not only ready to prepare for us  well crafted content, but is eager to offer follow up support with more detailed information.

open-uri20121128-21515-kwzqxl.jpg

That is why the new flexible friendly news release is such a refreshing addition to our life as reporters on the ground. For a change somebody wants to give us  fresh updated information that we can quickly scan, turn around or even copy and paste while we are on the go. The  digital press release in this overwhelmingly fast paced social media age has actually given journalists a highly appreciated chance to breathe. A little hand holding is always welcome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Telex and Tears: Thank God For Digital Press Release

  1. Laetitia Cany

    Hi Amany, loved it, very interesting to have the reporter’s point of view.
    We can sense your love of words in your writing style, nice.
    Laetitia

    Like

  2. Robyn Clarke

    Hi Amany,

    Well written! How obvious that you are a journalist! The perspective of personal experience is always the best, and I was drawn to your story by the word Telex, followed by the picture. I studied Broadcast Journalism just as we were moving away from analog sources, but I still got my hands on the reel-to-reel tapes. Fascinating how far we’ve come. Great perspective, thanks!

    Like

  3. Amany – I devoured your article! It’s so helpful to have the perspective of a journalist. It’s also interesting to read that spokespeople have improved their relationships and changed their attitude towards the media while press releases were evolving.

    Like

  4. Phil A.

    I really like the storytelling approach that you used throughout your post, and the perspective that you provided with regards to how much more work was required to release a traditional press release and getting your message out there. Your writing really pulled me in and kept me engaged until the end. Great post, Amany!

    Like

  5. Alex

    One word – AMAZING! Your storytelling approach was seamless! The transition from traditional to the digital era from a journalists perspective kept me interested throughout! For all the times my pc crashed at work, I am still grateful for it as I would have dreaded using that TELEX machine myself!

    Like

  6. Brigitte Martin

    Your years of experience in journalism add a perspective that can only be had if you lived through it! It’s amazing what search engines have done for us. I like your post because it is so authentic and your tone reflects your emotion.

    Like

  7. Once again, I love the insight you are giving into your work domain! Your article proves once more that we are strongest writing about what we actually know and feel strongly about. It is plain to see that you have found and are writing about “your tribe”. It makes such a difference. Good job!
    Sinje

    Like

Leave a Reply

